single product

Canadian Girl

Release date: Sept 17, 2011 / BUY Canadian Girl

Canadian Girl album coverAbout the album

If there’s such a thing as a timeless, classic Canadian-sounding roots album, Canadian Girl is it.  Ste-Croix’s mellifluous, honeyed vocals are layered over gorgeous harmony tracks and sweet, homespun acoustic roots instrumentation.  The players include multiple Juno-winning fiddler Natalie MacMaster, WCMA-winning guitarist Joel Fafard, Juno-winning Stephen Fearing (on the Six String Nation guitar), and legendary Quebec fiddler Claude Methé – with his family band, Dentdelion. The voices include ECMA & CFMA winning The Once, ECMA-winner Catherine MacLellan, BC Entertainment Hall of Famer Shari Ulrich, Juno-winning Leela Gilday and WCMA-nominated Yukon songwriter Kim Beggs.

Reviews for ‘Canadian Girl’

“Canadian Girl” named one of the TOP TEN ALBUMS OF 2011 by the OTTAWA CITIZEN in company with with Adele, Sheepdogs and The Once.

“The entire album is incredible. People just don’t make albums like this anymore.” Glenn Meisner, CBC Atlantic Airwaves Interview.

“The songs are of strong quality throughout. In the end, it turns out to be a high-quality celebration of the folk-and-roots community of the country.” Bob Mersereau, CBC Maritimes.

“Bonnie Ste-Croix’s wonderful new album (with) strong melodies, thoughtful lyrics and appealing
 voice..” Lynn Saxberg, Ottawa Citizen

Ste-Croix is “blessed with a warm, inviting alto and an intuitive feel for how the human heart works.” Stephen Cooke, The Chronicle Herald, Halifax

“an unqualified artistic success…its 13 songs evoke the spirit and beauty of Canada’s natural and human landscape, without wandering into the realm of the precious.” Ste-Croix is a “born storyteller and celebrated onstage raconteur and a wonderful vocalist…a true Canadian Girl.” Alan Kellogg, Penguin Eggs.

The Story

Recording one song in every Province and Territory of Canada for her “Canadian Girl” album, Ste-Croix has captured the attention and heart of the country with her musical strand from Coast to Coast to Coast. Guest artists include Stephen Fearing, Natalie MacMaster, Leela Gilday, The Once, the Inuksuk Drum Dancers, Laura Smith, Catherine MacLellan, Emmanuelle Leblanc, Dominque Dupuis, Jessica Rhaye, Shari Ulrich, Julia Graff, Joel Fafard, Farideh, Lynne Hanson, Kate Reid, Kim Beggs, Marie-Josee Dandeneau, Carlin Lemon, The Fates, Brent Tyler, Dentdelion and Dale Boyle.

7849 driving kms, 12 flights, 46 musicians, 13 provinces and territories, 13 songs…one beautiful country!

Guest artists

In order of appearance on album.

Ontario Stephen Fearing stephenfearing.com  | Kate Reid katereid.net | Lynne Hanson lynnehanson.com | Six String Nation guitar and its maker Jowi Taylor sixstringnation.com

Nova Scotia Natalie MacMaster nataliemacmaster.com  | Laura Smith laurasmith.ca

Yukon Kim Beggs kimbeggs.com

Northwest Territories Leela Gilday  leelagilday.com

British Columbia Julia Graff and Shari Ulrich shariulrich.com

Newfoundland The Once (Geraldine Hollett, Phil Churchill and Andrew Dale) theonce.com

Prince Edward Island Catherine MacLellan catherinemaclellan.com | Emmanuelle LeBlanc from Vishten vishten.net

Québec Dentdelion (Claude Méthé, Dana Whittle, Denise Levac, Colin Savoie-Levac, Béatrix Méthé) dentdelion.net | Dale Boyle daleboyle.com

Alberta The Fates (Lori Reid, Lin Elder, Jenny Allen) thefates.ca | Brent Tyler brenttyler.com

Saskatchewan Joël Fafard joelfafard.com | Farideh farideh.ca

New Brunswick Jessica Rhaye jessicarhayemusic.com | Dominique Dupuis dominiquedupuis.com | Aaron Currie facebook.com/aaron.currie2

Nunavut The Inuksuk Drum Dancers

Manitoba Marie-Josee Dandeneau mjdandeneau.com | Carlin Lemon http://myspace.com/carlinlemon

More details

CD cover design : Kim Grenier kimgrenier.ca and Bonnie Ste-Croix
Photos : Wayne Ste-Croix  facebook.com/waynestecroix
Produced by : Bill Buckingham thepalacestudios.com and Bonnie Ste-Croix

Ordering info

This CD is available for order online at http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/bonniestecroix2 and through JMAC Distribution. MP3 download also available at http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/bonniestecroix2.

Bonnie's mailing list

Close